Tags

, , , ,

I work with a small group of young ladies who are in their 20s.  We’re about a decade apart in age, but it really doesn’t feel like it’s been 10 years or so since I was walking in their shoes.  Having to make decisions that change the course of your life from one way or another.  It felt like a very daunting task to me back then too.  One of the things that has come up in my own life from meeting with them is the idea of “consequences of sin”.  I’m not sure I had ever put AS MUCH thought to that topic as I have in the past 5-6 months.  I mean, I have thought about it when I am in the thick of something and dealing with an immediate consequence.  But I don’t think I’d ever thought about the long-term consequences to my sins.  Most people who know me, know that I never really shied away from the boys when I was in school. 🙂  I learned to play golf because that was what the cute boys did in Pittsburg, TX during the summer!  I wish I was kidding about that, but I’m totally not.  I really WAS that girl.  Do you think it ever crossed my mind when I was worrying so much about the boys (and making out with them) that my actions then would affect my life later?  I knew how my actions were affecting my self-esteem, my reputation, my walk with God, my parents and family, etc then.  But I never gave a single thought to how my actions then would affect relationships now.  Relationships with God, my husband, my family, friends, my self-esteem… all of it.  I knew about consequences of sin.  I grew up in the church!  I’m not sure you really know about LONG-TERM consequences of sin until you are stuck in it and trying desperately to get out.  Have you ever thought about your life in this way before?  Are you aware enough to be able to see what areas in your life are still being affected by decisions you made a week ago?  A year ago?  Ten years ago?  Don’t feel hopeless!  Jeremiah 29:11 promises that God “knows the plans He has for you, plans for peace and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.”  That’s the good news!  You may feel like you’re wandering right now, but even the Israelites made it to the promised land.  They had to deal with a long-term consequence to their sins too, and it was all according to God’s plan.  Isn’t it good to know that we HAVE a promise? 

Staring up,

KP

