Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Well, believe it or not…it hasn’t been a long time!!!  🙂  Last time I wrote, I put my thoughts down on how I felt ready for our new life to begin here in Tyler.  I felt ready.  Finally.  Have you been thinking about what you are ready to do?

So, it seems the Lord was just waiting for me to get on board with His plan.  After making the decision to not fight moving and living here, and then putting it down in writing on here, doors have started opening for me and our family to serve the community here.  Worship opportunities and loving on college kids are all sitting on my doorstep now.  I don’t think anything is a coincidence.  It’s just one more confirmation that I am where He wants me to be.  Is my house teeming with college students yet?  Not yet, but opportunities are arising for me to get to love on those college students here in the area.  I have decided I will be content with whatever and whoever God puts in my path.  It’s really exhausting to try to do things in my own power or to fight what God is trying to do in my life.  Yes, I know you’re thinking I should already have known that, and I did in my head.  And in my heart too really.  But I don’t think I realized how much I was holding on to the past and not letting go. 

I’m reading a great book now about moving called “After the Boxes are Unpacked” by Susan Miller.  If you’ve just moved somewhere, it’s fantastic for helping you move on and I highly recommend it.  Anyway, there’s a whole chapter on cherishing and not clinging to things.  Because I realized I was clinging to what I had known and loved and not just cherishing it, it made me realize that I can’t be the only one out there doing that.  It doesn’t just have to be a place that you use to live.  You can cling to relationships, jobs, homes, anything that you loved and just didn’t want to give up.  I’m wondering if there’s ever been a time in your life, maybe it’s now, where you clung to something instead of cherished it.  Have you ever thought about it?  How has that affected you?  For me, I realized that clinging to Phoenix was keeping me from moving on here, from making new friendships, from having new ministry opportunities, from learning to like my new home and town, from wanting to even learn about the city of Tyler. It’s kept me from being excited about life, and that is something I usually love to be excited about!  In short, clinging caused me to lose a part of myself and my zeal for life.  That zeal is back because I have embraced the newness of what He is doing in my life.  Thank the Lord there are New Mercies Every Morning!

Cherish, not cling.  Let go and move on.  No more living in the past.  Hit the play button and quit hitting the rewind button.  All those sayings… haha

Staring up,

KP

