Tonight was a good night. It seems all I have been doing lately is working. When I’m not at work, I’m working at home to be ready for work or I’m thinking about work. Constantly thinking about work. Last night I even had dreams about work. Yes, I said dreams-multiple. In all of them, we were in the middle of a production and something went wrong. Students refused to know their lines-students collided with each other while doing their choreography-students would say lines from 1 production in another production-the list goes on and on. It was a night of fitful sleep at best. I couldn’t believe I was now working even in my sleep! It feels like it’s been a while since I’ve just put work aside and enjoyed a night of good conversation and a lot of laughter. Tonight was that night for me. We went to a Community Group Thanksgiving Feast at our church. I laughed so hard, enjoyed delicious food, and had great conversations. It was a reminder-a very clear one-that community is important. I felt so comfortable tonight, and love knowing I can be goofy and people still accept me. And let’s face it-Goofy is where I’m most comfortable. I’ve written a lot in the past about everyone’s need for community. I’m a firm believer in it, and yet, I quickly put it to the side and allowed work to overshadow that need. The whole time it was happening, I could feel myself shrinking. I’m still tired-and still really have nothing to give or to say-but tonight served as a reminder to me. I need community. You do too. It is something you must work at and make an effort to have.
Staring Up,
KP

