Well, it seems if you really want to get under my skin and drive me crazy, the thing to do is ask me to write a Query Letter. A few things you should know about me. I am a natural born seller. I have a background in marketing and publicity as well as in opera and the theater. Selling, performing, making you want to buy or have something-I know that business. At least I do face-to-face. Unfortunately, putting it down on paper is a whole different story. What happens to me when you strip me of the exuberant facial expressions and hand motions, the tone of my voice, and the dramatic pauses? You get my query letter-which had seen better days from the very beginning. I have taken some comments into consideration and changed the query letter somewhat. You can see what it WAS like in the previous post if you really just want to…although my pride hopes you don’t. 🙂 Seriously, I believe in this children’s book. Critique partners, groups, and an agent (who doesn’t do children’s) all said good things. So, what I need is a query letter that will make them turn the page, right?? Blah…It would be so much easier if they would just let me call them up for ten minutes, become my bestie, and realize they can’t LIVE without representing me and my precious book. LOL! Anyway, that is not how it works, so I am revising and rewriting and sweating this whole query letter thing out. Holy cow…Let’s just pray this book gets into the right hands. (Yes, the holy and the cow pun there was intended..) Help me out my beautiful writer friends, but be gentle…

One more thing, I found an interesting blog post from Jennifer Laughran at her website. I thought there might be a few people who might be interested. Enjoy!

Staring up,

KP

Date: July 15, 2011

Subject: Manuscript Submission Request

Status: A Completed Project

There is one thing Bella Bovine wants more than anything: a shiny, new cowbell, even though she has not yet come of age to receive one. When her parents finally give in with the one condition that she cannot remove it, Bella is faced with the many challenges that come with the responsibility of acquiring her beautiful bell. In the end, Bella comes to the realization that her parents want what’s best for her, and there is a time for everything in our lives.

BELLA THE COW WHO WANTS THINGS NOW is an early reader picture book that focuses on the chocolate brown bovine, Bella, who has to learn a lesson in patience. Geared for children ages 5-8, it is complete at 1,067 words.

A mother of three and an educator for the past thirteen years, I also have a background in marketing and publicity. Thank you for your time, and I look forward to hearing from you,

Kelly P. Simmon

[Address]

[Phone Number]

[Email Address]

S.A.S.E Enclosed

