Tags

, , , , ,

I’m in the process of writing a new book. This one is not a children’s picture book, but is a young adult (YA) novel. I love the idea and premise behind it. Seriously, I love it. There are so many possibilities for it and turns it can take and that is always fun. What’s the problem, then , you ask? I’m having a hard time committing. My thoughts are scattered. While the idea of the book and story is pretty solid, the actual writing of the chapters is causing me issues. You’ve heard the term There is More than One Way to Skin a Cat? Well, that is what is happening with me and the writing of this book. There is more than one way to get to each major part of the book. So, the question keeps plaguing me-Am I taking the right way to each part? Then, when I am sitting writing, I’ll get a snippet of something else entirely and have to write that snippet down. To be fair, it’s usually a significant thought and needs to be written down. That being said, it usually has nothing to do with what I am writing right at that moment. Now, it does go with the book. I know each thought and thing I write down is going with the book, even if it’s a jumping off point for a scene, but oh my goodness! I just feel all over the place. Sounds crazy, doesn’t it??

I’ve been putting a lot of thought into this and what in the world is wrong with me? I’ve come to the conclusion that I have a fear of committment where this book is concerned. I feel like I am about to get engaged to the perfect guy-seriously, my prince in shining armor-have you seen his sparkling white steed-tall, dark and handsome, perfect guy. I want to be engaged to him. I want to marry him and have a fantastic life with him (and do a lot of making out with him) but what if I’m making a mistake?? I know he’s the one for me, right? But….well, just but! What is this called? Cold Feet! I love my book idea and the story. I want it so much and I believe in it….but…what if I mess it up? What if I take the wrong turn to get to the right place?

Which leads me to my second issue…I want to be a plotter and not a pantser. Actually, I really want to be a happy, in-the-middle, well-balanced writer that does a little bit of both. For those of you who don’t know-a plotter plans every move ahead of time, a pantser just sits down and writes, goes where the words take them in a sense. I want to be both! But, because I am trying so hard to plot, I am losing my pants! I wish you could see me giggling hysterically as I typed that last line.

Anyway, I’m scattered. I’m scared to commit. And…I have cold feet. In short, I’m a mess. Anyone else out there ever feel this way??

Here’s the good news-Today I spent all afternoon reresearching the premise for my story. I THINK I finally have my ideas in some sort of an order. At least, they’re in a better order than they were… So, I leave you now to go and write. To finally put down on paper this story that I am in love with. I will not have cold tootsies anymore! Let the warmth begin to spread my friends!

Staring Up,

KP

