Tags

, , , ,

I had every intention of showing you a picture of the soup and all of its yummy delicousness. Unfortunately, I did not imagine and could not have foreseen, that my family would eat it ALL and there would be absolutely no leftovers. There really was enough made for a small army…but my creatures inhaled it so fast. When I finally had time to walk over to the crockpot (Yes, I did this in a crock pot) and take the picture, I found myself staring into an empty container that had been scraped clean! So, because it was such a hit in my household, I thought I would share it with you.

Now, I should tell you that I made this soup with leftovers from our Christmas meal. You might be thinking, Yay!! I have so many leftovers in my fridge from Christmas! I’m set! BUT before you blow your back out jumping up and down, my leftovers probably look different than your leftovers. We don’t do the typical Christmas meal…we do Tex-Mex. Fajitas, enchiladas, southwestern salad, and all the trimmings grace my table every single year. It’s a tradition Michael and I started not long after we got married. It is something we LOVE doing every year. Cooking Tex-Mex is one of my favorite things to cook and it makes me so happy to see my family and loved ones gathered around my table gobbling it all up.

So, like I said, your’s might look different than mine. The leftovers I used were: sauteed onions and bell peppers, fajita steak meat, chopped tomatoes. Everything else came from my fridge and pantry. Now, the meat is very important. You want one that has been marinated or rubbed really well, probably having sat in the marinade or rub for a day or so in the fridge. We buy our meat already marinated from a local Mexican market here in town. Our market of choice is called La Michocana. If you live in the Dallas, or East Texas, area, there’s a good chance there is one near you. If not, see if you have a market near you that you can use. In the market, we buy the premarinated flank steak by the pound. I suggest buying enough for fajitas one night and having enough leftovers to make a soup afterwards. Cook all of the meat on the grill at the same time and then put the leftover portion in the fridge for the soup later. If you don’t have a market nearby, make your own meat marinade/rub with spices. There are usually fajita marinades/rubs you can buy in the spice aisle at your local grocery store.

Okay, so it’s time to make your soup. I do everything in the crockpot. First, I turn the crock pot on high. I add a tablespoon of minced garlic and spread it out on the bottom of the crock pot, letting it heat as the crock pot heats. Then, I add the leftover onions and bell peppers from fajita night. For this onion/bell pepper mixture: slice onions and bell peppers in butter until soft. That’s it! Serve with fajitas and store extra in fridge until time to make soup. Once I drop this in the crock pot, I stir and mix it well with the garlic. Put the lid back on and let it heat while you go to your meat. Slice the already cooked meat into bite size pieces. Once it is cut, put it in the crock pot and stir again. Take fresh cilantro and pull the leaves off the stem-throw into the pot and stir again. I probably did about 1/4 cup of cilantro. Place lid on and leave to heat up about 20-30 minutes. Once this mixture is heated through, add 1 can diced tomatoes, 1 can original Rotel, 1 can Ranch Style beans (in Arizona they are called Texas beans, which is hilarious to me), 1 can corn kernels, and 1 can beef broth. Do not drain any of these cans-just pour them in! Take 1/2 of a fresh lemon and squeeze over the top of the soup. Stir and put the lid back on. Now, let the soup cook on high for a couple of hours. Turn the heat down and cook on low for as long as you like. We let it cook for about 6 hours total. The meat become melt in your mouth tender and the flavors melded together in a way that we did not expect. You can serve this soup just like you would tortilla soup or taco soup, with cheese, sour cream, avocados, and tortilla chips, etc… It’s delicious and I hope you and your family enjoy it as much as mine did! I only wish there were some more leftovers for tomorrow!!

Staring Up,

KP

