Tags

, , , , , ,


It’s Thursday!! I promised you The Husband, and so here he is with his Very First Blog Post! Please make him feel welcome and loved. Especially since I talked him into trying this out…Enjoy his first take, and then come back every Thursday to hear his latest opinions and thoughts, given to you…

In His Own Words…

So what I suppose is the first thing that you need to understand about me is that I am fairly new to the whole “reading for entertainment” game.  Until about 6 months or so ago, the only books I read for entertainment were the Harry Potter books – and that wasn’t too often.  If I was in the mood to read, I would pick one up and re-read it.  This habit was the source of much consternation to The Wife who is VERY immersed in the book world.  She’d say things like, “You know…there’s a whole world of books out there that you would probably really like if you would just give them a try.”  Finally…after many months (and when I say months what I really mean is years) of her encouragement, I picked up another book-The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins-and loved it.  Confession time…I liked it so much I’ve read the entire series three times.  What can I say…old habits die hard.  However, I have also begun to branch out and read several other books and series.  A few of those are Divergent by Veronica Roth, The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare, and Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. I think it’s safe to say that I have become “a reader.”

So…recently The Wife started suggesting to me this group of books called The Tiger Series by Colleen Houck. I have to say I have been none too excited about picking these up.  I’ve heard The Wife and all of her friends chatting it up over these books and none of it sounded all that appealing. She’s suggested them to me several times, and my response has always been a very polite “No thanks.”

Now…The Wife can be very persistent and persuasive (as wives can be).  So imagine my surprise when I heard myself agree to not only read this series but also to blog about it as I go. Let’s be clear – I have never blogged before so I’m not entirely sure what I’ve gotten myself in to.  That being said…here we go…

The first book in the series is called Tiger’s Curse.

My intention when starting this process was to take the book about three chapters at a time and give you my thoughts. However, at the end of the first three chapters I had nothing to say.  Nothing had really happened yet.  To be truthful…if it had not been for the intriguing prologue and my commitment to read the whole book, I don’t know if I would have continued reading.  The first three chapters started a little slow for me.  Kelsey seems likeable enough. I’m not feeling any kind of instant connection to her, but I’m only a few chapters in so I’m hoping that will change soon.  I pushed into chapter four hoping that the story would pick up, and I’m glad that I did.   A stranger has appeared and he is full of mystery.  I’m not sure how to take this guy, Mr. Kadam.  He seems nice enough, but there’s obviously a lot that he’s not telling us.  So when he offers Kelsey the chance to accompany the white tiger, Ren, to India, I am naturally cynical about the nature of this trip.  And…I’m sure that was the point.  I am all the more interested in finding out how this trip goes because I know there is more than meets the eye.  So…Colleen Houck your little trick worked.  I want to read more.  I am interested to see what becomes of Kelsey and this white tiger that she has developed such affection for.

Questions I have going forward:

What’s the real story of Mr. Kadam, the guy who bought Ren so that he would bring him back to India?  Why does he feel responsible his capture?  What’s up with this tiger who behaves so strangely?

I guess I’ll just have to keep reading…

The Husband

