Tags

, , , , , , , ,

MamaKPMondays_edited-1Isn’t it amazing how much we believe in ourselves when we are young? I thought I could do and be anything. My parents, teachers, mentors, friends….they all poured and spoke that into me. I was blessed by having that belief stated over and over in my life. I could change the world! And I wanted to do just that in a myriad of ways… Let’s look at all the things I wanted to do with my life and be when I “grew up”…

Office Supply on a colored background

I’m sure some of you are laughing at this list… we can all step back and see that being in charge or in the spotlight (or both) was high on my list in some form or fashion…So yes, some things never change apparently.

Isn’t it amazing when you think back to when you were younger and the answers you gave when people asked you what you wanted to be when you grew up? I listen to my three boys answer this question all the time and am fascinated at how quickly things change each time I hear a different answer. Here are some of the answers I’ve heard come out of their mouths over the last 13 years of having children…

And the list could go on… It’s so much fun for me to hear them think and dream big about their futures. When you’re 8, chasing those dreams seems so easy, doesn’t it? What could possibly hold you back? You have the world at your fingertips, obviously.

Something happens, though, as we get older.

We start to let others who don’t deserve the right to speak into us do just that.

 

They tell us we have to “grow up and be responsible.” Or they say things like, “You’re a ________, why would you want to start over?” Or… “You want to go back to school? I’d never do that again.” Or… “Yeah, that’s really cool. We should all have a great hobby.”

We start to believe that because we’ve hit the age of 21, 30, 40, etc. that we have to actually grow up. And we do to some extent. I mean, those bills won’t pay for themselves. However, growing up doesn’t mean STOP DREAMING, and I think there are a lot of us out there who hear both as the same thing when we get to a certain age. And honestly, that’s just sad. Truly.

Because you are never past the point of dreaming.

Or of doing something about those dreams.

 

Did you hear that? I don’t mean hear it just with your eyes and ears. Did you hear it deep down in your heart and soul where your dreams (those ones you’ve pushed down and tried to ignore for the last 2, 7, 15, 30 years) are rattling around and whispering or screaming to get out? Do you have that catch of breath as you read this? You know the one…the one that makes you wonder, IS SHE TALKING TO ME?? And then break out in a bit of a sweat and look behind you to see if anyone is there? Yeah….that one.

And yes, I’m talking to you.

 

There are lots of reasons to push those dreams down. I get it. I’ve been there. Life has a way of just taking over. We become a certain age and we’re expected to know what in the world we are doing with our lives, where we’re headed, how we’re going to pay those pesky bills… So we come up with something. Some answer that pacifies every person who asks us. And sometimes those answers aren’t what we dreamed at all. Sometimes we turn to what’s there at the moment because we have to. And that’s okay. It’s totally okay to have seasons in your life where you have to get the job done. I’ve been there.

But when those dreams are still rattling around deep down in you…what do you do with that?

 

Dream Big

 

You let them fly.

You write them down.

You make a list.

You DREAM and keep on dreaming and continue to dream.

And then you take steps.

Action.

Because dreams deserve to become reality.

 

They were your dreams for a reason-planted inside of you. They need a little bit of life and hope breathed into them. Especially if you’ve been squashing them down and telling them, “For the love of all things mighty, be quiet.”

Except dreams are funny things, aren’t they? They have a hard time staying quiet. Your friends and family might not know they are there, but you do. You heard the rattle this morning when you were scrolling through some form of social media and reading how your “friend” was having an amazing day jetting off to who knows where. And you remembered how you wanted to be a flight attendant and travel the world, or be a writer and create worlds of your own…

You’re never too old to remember your dreams.

 

You’re never stuck in a place that you can’t get out of. There will ALWAYS be something or someone telling you that you can’t. Here’s what I say to that…

BULL.

 

You can do anything you want to do. Or anything you wanted to do. 😉 You can pull those dreams out and dust them off or you can dream new dreams. I can attest that dreaming new dreams is the best. Notice that there is nothing on my list when I was little that says Publicist or Business Owner… Those dreams came later. I had to work to pay the bills doing something else to get there, but that’s the thing about dreams-they stay with you through it all.

So what are your dreams? What’s holding you back? If you’ve reached your dream, have you allowed yourself to dream new ones? Because that’s important too.

Until your dying breath, you get to dream. I’m so thankful for that. I don’t plan on being finished growing up until then…

Dream Big and Don’t Stop, Friends….

 

Staring Up,

KP

